FAS Top Menu


Past Flathead Audubon Society Presidents

Past Flathead Audubon Society Presidents

Flathead Audubon had its beginnings in the Bigfork Bird Club, formed in early 1975 by birders who had participated in the first Bigfork Audubon Christmas Bird Count, December 1974. The Club was chartered as a chapter of the National Audubon Society in January 1977.

In 1994, we moved our meeting place from Bigfork to Kalispell, which is more centrally located in the Chapter’s territory. Initially, Flathead Audubon’s territory included Polson. In 1997, Mission Mountain Audubon Society was formed, the 10th and newest of the Montana Audubon chapters. This new sister chapter is located in Polson, and its membership territory reaches north to encompass the Salish-Kootenai lands on the southern end of Flathead Lake.

Copyright 2016 Flathead Audubon Society